How do Parameter Priorities work?

Hi there, I’m a student learning FMOD and Game Audio through my university and I’m working on a Final Project surrounding that. I wanted some clarification on something that I’ve discovered whilst trying to do some integration work on my music today.

I have designed the music around 4 central areas in my platformer level, where each area results in a unique mix of my Music Event based on triggers being sent from Unreal to FMOD, to do automation and parameter work yaddy yada… What I’m confused about is in a situation where multiple parameters affect one control, which parameter is selected as the ‘dominant’ value, so to speak:

My parameter “AreaMiddle” dictates that Piano Main is muted at 0 and 0db at 1; “AreaPlatform” does the same thing. Ideally, if either of the two are set to 1, it would set the track back to 0db, but instead I require both to be set to 1.

Additionally, another parameter “NearOrb” sets all tracks to mute except for one, and when this is set to 0, even with “AreaMiddle” and “AreaPlatform” set to 1, the Piano Main track is muted;

This makes sense to me if for volume automation, muting/lowering is a higher priority than increasing if using multiple parameters, but my real question is: why? Is this something that can be changed? How do these priorities work for controls on other effects? My assumption here is that whenever multiple parameters are mapped to the same control, it always takes the lowest value, is this the case?

I have gotten around this by having multiple Event Instruments nested in my Music Event on different tracks, each containing the instruments with the unique mix I require for the different areas; therefore each volume control is only being affected by their “Area___” parameter and the “NearOrb” parameter, which works for my purposes, and is consistent with my hypothesis above: but if someone could clarify this for me, that would be really helpful!