Primer on event sheets (especially parameter sheet) please

I’m new to FMOD and I’m struggling to understand the different sheets within an Event and how they work together.

I have seen the forum posts explaining that New Event > New 2D/3D Timeline creates an event with a Timeline Sheet only and that New Event > New 2D/3D Action creates an event with an Action Sheet only… and that these are just templates and we have total control about which sheets we add and remove. Cool. Got it.

I think I understand Timeline Sheet and Action Sheet just a little bit but I could still do with more explanation. In my limited understanding

• Action Sheet is the most basic and is well suited to one-shot SFX where you Play() and expect it to go from start to finish and then stop on its own; e.g. gunshots or explosions.
  • Timeline Sheet is more feature-rich and lets you have loop regions, segments, transitions etc… It’s also got tempo control which I still need to get my head around as I think of audio in terms of samples, sample rate and time vs MIDI notes in terms of notes, beats and tempo.

But the one that’s got me most confused is the Parameter Sheet. Please could someone explain the Ride-on Mower example from the Kart tutorial. In particular:

1. It looks like this has 2 parameter sheets: RPM and Load, but no Timeline Sheet and no Action Sheet. Is that right? And if so, how come we don’t need either of them? (The fact that there’s no New Event > New Parameter Sheet suggests this is not a valid thing to do.)

2. On the RPM sheet, I understand how the samples have been placed on the parameter axis to come in an out and mix between samples for different values of RPM. I can also see that each particular sample is looped infinitely, which makes sense. The questions I have around this are:
    a) What does ‘Cut’ mean? What would be different if it wasn’t enabled? It’s on the sound controls to the left of the loop control.