addDSP on ChannelGroup v. Channel

I’m following the effects.cpp example from FMOD Studio lowlevel API to apply some DSP on a music. When using the master ChannelGroup (system->getMasterChannelGroup), I can apply the DSP and everything works as expected. But, I wish to add DSP just on a specific sound, and let the others without any processing. So tried to apply the DSP directly on the channel I’ve created for the music without luck.

I also tried to create a group, add the channel and apply the DSP on that group (like the channels_group.cpp example), without luck again. The only solution that have worked for me is using the ChannelGroup, but as I said before, it will not do what I want to do.

To sum up, the sounds are playing OK on channels, adding a DSP on the master channel group is OK too, but adding DSP directly on a single channel I want isn’t working.

Maybe I am making a mistake, since I’m new to FMOD? Can anyone help me on this? Currently I’m working on Linux (FMOD 1.04.02).

Thank you all.

Hi ,
Can you show some of the code you use to add the dsp to the channel? it should just be a matter of Channel::addDSP (use say FMOD_CHANNELCONTROL_DSP_HEAD as the index).
I assume your DSP can handle different channel formats, like mono vs 5.1 etc?

Hi, posting here just the FMOD related code I’m using, since the sound and channel creation:

m_result = m_system->createStream(file.c_str(), FMOD_LOOP_NORMAL | FMOD_2D,
                0, &m_sound);
    ERRCHECK(m_result);

m_result = m_channel->setCallback(channelCallback);
    ERRCHECK(m_result);

m_system->update();
    m_result = m_system->playSound(m_sound, 0, true, &m_channel);
    ERRCHECK(m_result);
    m_system->update();
    // BLOCK
    m_result = m_system->createDSPByType(FMOD_DSP_TYPE_LOWPASS, &m_dsp);
    m_result = m_channel->addDSP(0, dsp);
    ERRCHECK(m_result);
    m_system->update();
    // BLOCK