AudioClip.GetData Equivalent in FMOD?

Hi there :slightly_smiling_face:

I’m currently trying to convert a speech recognition solution work with FMOD audio, rather than the built-in Unity Audio. I’m stumped at a point in the script where the Unity method AudioClip.GetData is used to receive some data. I’m wondering if there is a way to extract the same data from FMOD sounds?
FMOD Help

I’m aware of a method called ReadData in FMOD, but I was, unfortunately, unable to apply it to get the desired values.
I’m a bit new to working this deeply with FMOD, so any help is appreciated :slightly_smiling_face:

Hi,

There is a way to get the sample data from an audio source but there is a bit of setup to do, we will need to create a Sound to read the data from. Here is an example of how:

GetSampleData(string filePath)
    /// <summary>
    /// Return sample data in a byte array from an audio source using its file path 
    /// </summary>
    /// <param name="filePath"></param>
    /// <returns></returns>
	private byte[] GetSampleData(string filePath)
    {
        // Very useful tool for debugging FMOD function calls
        FMOD.RESULT result;

// Sound variable to retrieve the sample data from
        FMOD.Sound sound; 

// Creating the sound using the file path of the audio source 
        // Make sure to create the sound using the MODE.CREATESAMEPLE | MDOE.OPENONLY so the sample data can be retrieved
		result = FMODUnity.RuntimeManager.CoreSystem.createSound(filePath, FMOD.MODE.CREATESAMPLE | FMOD.MODE.OPENONLY, out sound);

// Debug the results of the FMOD function call to make sure it got called properly
        if (result != FMOD.RESULT.OK)
        {
            Debug.Log("Failed to create sound with the result of: " + result);
            return null; 
        }

// Retrieving the length of the sound in milliseconds to size the arrays correctly
		result = sound.getLength(out uint length, FMOD.TIMEUNIT.MS);

{