Pooling instances manually vs creating new instances

Hi! I am very new to using FMOD in unity, but I would like to get the optimal approach right before starting.

What I am wondering about right now is the performance of creating an instance every time I need a sound in our tycoon game, vs having a pool of objects with their own script and each with their own persistente instances to use from the pool.

Is the second approach worth the hassle, or behind the scene the creating of new instances in FMOD is already handled in a pool-like way and it’s already optimized?

Thanks and cheers!
Dr.H

Mhm the more I dig into it, the more I realized I don’t understand some basic behaviors I guess.

My original doubt from the topic, evolved into something more specific (not that the previous one has been solved yet :stuck_out_tongue: ):

When I play a one shot sound with spatial positioning, do I also need a specific emitter for it? Let’s say one of my characters burps (they are little drunk brewing monks), so it’s a one-shot-like sound, and I want to play it on the monk position. Do I need to instantiate a sound emitter to that position in order for the sound to be spatially heard, or by just calling play one shot with the position, there is already an emitter-like behavior happening behind the scene?

If an emitter is needed, the I guess my original pooling idea should evolve into something like having a pool of objects with emitters, and on need, fetching one object from the pool, attaching it to the character, assigning it the right event and playing the sound. Would this make sense or it’s again some convoluted way that I am looking for to do something otherwise simpler?