problems with events and loops

Hi. Firstly i’m new to FMOD but not new to audio production, so please bear with me if i don’t understand some specific to FMOD terms. I’m making my source material in LogicPro.

This is my first project in FMOD, so am probably doing things in weird ways, but i’m getting some strange behaviour with some ‘regions’ doubling up over each other - As in the playback starts but then starts again so i hear the audio twice but out of sync with each other by a bar. Also when it transitions back to [Intro] the A section keeps on playing over the top

I have a piece of music with 2 sections: [intro] and [A]. [Intro] always plays in full before auto transitioning to [A]. [A] can jump back to [intro] at any point but if not transitioning ought to loop continuously.

So [A] needs to loop, but i’m unsure whether to put the loop region around the actual nested audio or around the event on the main timeline. If i put it around the audio then playback is ok, but back on the top-level main timeline the region ends and cursor goes past the event still playing the music and subsequently past the transition region.
If i put the loop around the event on the top level, then i get the weird doubling and stuff.

Thanks in advance for any help and feel free to ask me any more specific questions.

update:
I’m getting the weird doubling audio whether i put loop region on the audio or on the event

I think i know what’s happening, but i don’t know how to stop it.

The events are sustaining all the way to the end of the audio when it transitions to a new section. How can i turn this off?

The easiest way to “turn it off” would be to put an AHDSR modulator with a release of 0 on the event sound. That said, I think you would be better off not using an event sound for this particular bit of music, as it adds to your resource overhead; I recommend using time-locked single sound modules if possible, or a multi sound module with an internal loop region if not.

1 Like