Audio Structure for Project

Dear All,

I am not a sound engineer and have little budget for sound design, so i thought i’d ask here for help. Sorry its long.

I have watched all the FMOD tutorials, but am stuggling with the initial structure for my project. It has 3 main areas of play: Strategy View, Planetside View (each with a unique score and tempo), Battles, Actions and Summary. Each of these areas of the game we want the music to project an emotional response such as calm, frantic etc.

The music tempo changes between scenes… is it therefore best to have a single timeline with different tempo markers on it? or can we jump between different event timelines that have their own unique arrangement, tempo and instruments?

Also any suggestions on workflow to get all sounds in a scene unified where there is harmony between them is appreciated. I understand dynamic range, so i’ve set volume levels for each clips perceived loudness to be roughly the same within FMOD (ship engines, lazer round, shields active feedbacks etc), i then send them to their own dedicated bus (engines bus for example) and i can manipulate all engines on the channel fader when being played amongst other audio assets in the scene. Is this overkill and likely to cause performance issues as it will result in a lot of buses?

Of course i can set audio levels in my DAW (Audition) but each time i do, i’d be reducing its quality, so best to set them in FMOD, right? I also want to EQ loads of the clips to get the sounds perfect but im sure that would kill CPU. Again i could do this in my DAW but its a much longer workflow.

Lastly i have a reverb on my rain effect on one planetside level but the effect is heard when exiting the planet. Is there a way to cut off the effect during transition between planets and space or must i create the cut-off myself in the parameter timeline i.e. set reverb wet level to 0 at 0 and 1 on the timeline?