Fading In and Out Music Tracks

Okay let me run this by everyone. I’m new to FMOD Studio (never used Designer), and I’m trying to get my bearings best I can. What I want is to run 3 music tracks simultaneously (a melody + 2 backing tracks), so that they’re all in sync with each other. Then I want either parameters or cues set up so that the game can fade in and out any track at will. So for instance, one event in the game will cause the first backing track to fade in over 2 seconds, another will cause the second backing track to fade in over 1 second, yet another will cause the first backing track to fade out over 2 seconds, and so on.

It seems like a simple thing to do, especially since interactive music is a key feature for Studio, but I can’t seem to figure it out! Any help?

Hi
i was trying to attempt this today, and thought I had it set up correctly but I’m not hearing anything when auditioning the snapshot modules that are placed on the parameters (in the 2nd event). do the parameters need to be edited to something other than min=0 and max=1?

or maybe there’s another way to do this? I want to do something similar, I have 3 music files. all the same tempo.
“music1” is 4 bars and should always play
“music2” is 4 bars and should sometimes play, but must sync with ‘music1’
“music3” is 8 bars should play sometimes, but must sync with ‘music1’

so they all have ‘music1’ in common, but must sync up every 4 bars.

or is it just easier to play one at a time and include the common music parts in all 3 music files?

thanks

I would create three tracks of 8 measures.

1: music1 + music1
2: music2 + music2
3: music3

Then I’d add 2 parameters that automate the volume of track 2 and 3.

There are a number of ways you could do this, but the one we currently recommend is as follows: