Load times, sound banks and 3d sound areas.

Hi All.
I’m new to FMOD and have a couple of questions with regards to the time it takes to load sounds and the most efficient way to do things.
I’m developing a game where sound is fundamental, In fact is it’s the main UI driver as the game is designed to be played by people like me who are blind so the on screen graphics are minimal.
The sound engine I was using in my previous releases was OK but had some limitations. For my new project I’d like to start using FMOD as it looks like it should give me everything I need.
I’m developing in C++ on windows using the FMOD low level API. I’ve got sounds loading and playing and the sound environment I’m building is starting to sound how I expect.
However I’m finding the soundscape very slow to load, and I’m not even stressing it that much.
At the moment I’m loading around 10 individual .ogg files. I’m calling Create Sound once for each file and storing the sound structure. As a number of the sounds are repeated from different sound sources, maybe 10 or 15 times, in the soundscape I’m calling play sound per sound source but passing in the same Sound structure returned from Create Sound. This gives me any number of channels per sound structure. Is this the most efficient way to do this? In the end game there’s going to be far more sounds sources and from what I’ve read FMOD should be able to handle that well.
What I was expecting to happen is that the create sound calls would take a little time, disk IO being the main culprit, but the play sound calls to be very fast. This is not what I’m seeing, the play sounds seem to be taking quite a long time to run too. Is this expected? What can I do to decrease the load time and/or play time?