Nested Events and EventDescription::loadSampleData function

While I am learning Studio at the same time I am thinking about possible implementation techniques for large projects. I am not a programmer but still I want to understand as much as I could about API features.

Since there is a possibility to nest events inside other events I want to understand is it possible to use per event sample load from banks for such multi events?
And if yes, how in this case it should work?

For example I have a general massive bank and a master event with two nested events in it.
If I will want to load only samples associated with the master event (and accordingly - the sub events) what a programmer should do?

1. Apply EventDescription::loadSampleData function for the two child events, and the master event will work automatically
    or
  2. The function could be applied for the master event only and it will automatically load samples from all child events?

Number 2 is the correct answer. If you call Studio::EventDescription::loadSampleData on the master event, all the sounds necessary to play it will be loaded, including any child events recursively.

1 Like

Thank you Graeme!

But in this case are there any ways to load data for master events selectively?

For example if I have a big master event for all footsteps or weapons in a game and I do not want to load all the data but only the samples required for a particular level (sand steps for desert, concrete for city etc.)?

I guess it may depend on the way a master event is constructed. I mean whether there is a separate sub event for each footstep material or only a single event with multi modules representing the material change.

Are there ways in the Studio to perform such selective sample load?

Yeah, I’m also wondering if you can selectively load sample data for some of the nested events in a “master event”.

The case for footsteps is a good one: