Programmer Instrument

Hi,

Version FMOD: 2.01.10
Version Unity: 2020.2.2f1

I am unable to get programmer instrument to work. I am a musician and a soundDesigner and my programming skills are not very high.

I have copied the example script from the Fmod page and changed the name of my audio file to “key”.

I have put a folder with the audio in the Desktop folder (Unity-Fmod does not generate the StreamingAssets folder only Desktop)

I have put the correct address on the audible bank.

When I test unity I get two errors:

[FMOD] FMOD_OS_File_Open : fopen failed to open ‘/Documents/GitHub/TestFMOD/Assets/StreamingAssets/Assets/SoundDialogues/BibRepeater5th_bip AtmosfericFMOD.wav’, errno = 2

UnityEngine.Debug:LogError (object)
FMODUnity.RuntimeManager:DEBUG_CALLBACK (FMOD.DEBUG_FLAGS,intptr,int,intptr,intptr) (at Assets/Plugins/FMOD/src/Runtime/RuntimeManager.cs:32)

and

[FMOD] SoundSourceInstrumentInstance::startChannelIfReady : Waveform instance in error state 18

UnityEngine.Debug:LogWarning (object)
FMODUnity.RuntimeManager:DEBUG_CALLBACK (FMOD.DEBUG_FLAGS,intptr,int,intptr,intptr) (at Assets/Plugins/FMOD/src/Runtime/RuntimeManager.cs:36)

If anybody know resolve this problem, I would appreciate.

Thanks,

Adrián.

In the Programmer Sounds example, audio assets should be located in the StreamingAssets directory, I suggest creating the directory yourself inside Unity, and moving any audio you want the Programmer Instrument to play into there.

That first error indicates the file doesn’t exist at that location, I think this is because your audio files are inside the Desktop folder and not StreamingAssets. The second error is just a result of the file not being opened to begin with.

The final step would be to modify the void Update() method to use your audio assets, i.e

void Update()
{
    if (Input.GetKeyDown(KeyCode.Alpha1))
    {
        PlayDialogue("key.wav");
    }
    if (Input.GetKeyDown(KeyCode.Alpha2))
    {