Scripting in Unity - Parameter controlled by player inputs + referencing event emitter out of script

Hi there,

I am a composer and am very new to using C# and Unity. I am currently working on a project for a client and am need of assistance writing a script for a particular command I had in mind.

The player is controlled using arrow keys and WASD. I am attempting to write a script that controls a custom parameter depending on when the input of any of the buttons is engaged or not.

Here is my script I’ve been working on:

I attached the script to the game object that has the studio event emitter.

The error message I’m getting underneath the Input.GetAxis line says that the ‘comparison of floating point numbers can be unequal due to the differing precision of the two values’, which I’m not too sure what that means…

I’m finding that having my custom script start my event instead of the stock FMOD ‘event emitter’ is ruining the spatialisation of the event. Everything within that event becomes mono, which isn’t an issue when my script is inactive and the event emitter triggers the event.

Is there any way to just reference the event emitter script within my MoveFX script?

This seems like it would be a minimal, straight forward script.

If anyone is able to help me out and point me in the right direction towards a coherent script, that would be much appreciated.

Cheers,

• Tom