Sound memory management

Hi

I’m a fmod newbie :slight_smile:
I’m looking for replacing my sound mobile engine, so I start looking on your engine.
In my engine, I’ve implemented a caching system (kind of LRU) for keeping the most “popular” sounds in fast access.

I didn’t understand if your engine do it for me, or should I still manage it?
If I still need it, it means that as long as I didn’t call to sound.release() it will be released? if yes, what will happen if I use a fixed memory pool size?

Thanks in advance,
Rafael

You can read about sample data loading in our documentation, but basically you manage the sample loading directly via loadSampleData or indirectly via the idle pool for a size constrained LRU list.

Hi Mathew,

Thanks for your quick reply.
I’m going to use core API not studio API (I already have many sound files in ogg format, I’m not going to convert them into FSB format), there is an idle pool also in core API? (I didn’t find).
If there is no idle pool for the core API, so I need to keep my LRU implementation, can I achieve it by creating sound and not release till my pool is full and another sound is need to be played?

I have another memory question, the pool size is a different memory block in addition to the block I allocate in init phase?
What init memory block is used for(FMOD::Memory_Initialize)?

You will need your own LRU implementation when using the Core API, holding onto the FMOD::Sound object and not calling Sound::release until you need to recover memory would be the way to go.

Specifying a memory block in Memory_Initialize sets an absolute heap size for all of FMOD, instance data and sample data together. We will only allocate from that block and never call the platform allocator. If you do this, you must ensure sufficient head room so that you don’t run out of memory, as that is a fatal condition.

One more thing, which openState considered as not in use?