StudioEventEmitter SetParameter not updating reliably

Hello!

I’m new to FMOD. Quick and simple question - should I be able to do:

soundEmitter.SetParameter(switchParameterId, switchIsUp ? 0 : 1); // soundEmitter is a StudioEventEmitter
soundEmitter.Play();

As I flip a switch in my game and have it work? Because it only works some of the time… it seems like the parameter is not always getting updated. It IS updating sometimes. If I put the SetParameter() line into Update(), it works every time. But then it’s constantly updating that parameter for every light switch in the game which is obviously undesirable.

FMOD Studio 2.02.05 and Unity 2021.2.7f1

Okay, it seems I misunderstood how this works. I read somewhere in the Steam Audio documentation that I had to have an FMOD Studio Event Emitter on the object to use a Steam Audio Source on it, but that seems to be untrue and I can do it like this with just an EventInstance.

switchState.setParameterByID(switchParameterId, switchIsUp ? 0 : 1); // switchState is an FMOD.Studio.EventInstance
switchState.start();

But now my problem is that the sounds cut each other off. Here’s my event:

I was using the drawer sound just for testing so that it was super obvious when the parameter changed. When that longer drawer sound is playing and I flip the switch again, it gets cut off for the other sound to play. How can I avoid that?

Yikes, nevermind. Steam Audio Source does not seem to work with the EventInstance, or I am confusing myself further and broke it. :man_facepalming:

Now I’ve tried going back to something I was doing before. A StudioEventEmitter and a SteamAudioSource on the same object, two separate EventReferences (one for “on” event, one for “off” event), and just doing

private void EmitSound(EventReference eventRef)
    {
        if (soundEmitter == null) return;

soundEmitter.EventReference = eventRef;
        soundEmitter.Play();
    }