What is Overriding?

Hi, I’m new to fmod. Can someone explain what overriding is in fmod and how it may be used? I’m taking over from someone else’s project and I see they’ve linked a sidechain compression plugin a “Dialogue Master” group to a “SFX Override” and “Background Music Override” group.

Feel free to post any reading/video material on this topic as well. Thanks

The only “override” that comes to mind is the spatializer effect’s “pan override,” but I doubt that’s what your predecessor was talking about, as it doesn’t take place in the mixer.

You can name group buses anything you want by double-clicking on them in the routing browser. You predecessor presumably named those buses “SFX override” and “background music override” because those names were meaningful to them, but overriding isn’t some special FMOD Studio keyword.

That said, it’s relatively common practice to use a sidechain effect on a dialogue bus to duck content on other buses. This is done to prevent a game’s dialogue from getting drowned out by the SFX and music, and it sounds like that’s what your predecessor has done:

• The sidechain effect on the “Dialogue Master” group bus continually monitors the signal at its position, and provides that information to the effects and modulators connected to it.
  • The compressor effect on the “SFX Override” group bus has that sidechain effect as one of its inputs. Whenever the signal from that input (i.e.: the signal going through the “Dialogue Master” bus) goes over the value of the compressor effect’s Threshhold property, the compressor effect will compress the signal at its own position (i.e.: the signal going through the “SFX Override” bus).
  • The compressor effect on the “Background Music Override” group bus does much the same thing as the other compressor effect, but may have a different Threshhold value or other property values.