BUG FIX: Please fix FMOD losing communication with Unity/Unreal

I have been using FMOD for many years now.
No matter the project, it loses communication with Unreal/Unity often. I can do changes in FMOD but they are not reflected when playing in editor (Yes, I have live update enabled). When restarting Unreal/Unity+restarting FMOD it then works.

This is something other people on other projects have told me as well.

Please look into it.

Thanks for the bug report, I can definitely understand your frustration.

So I know what to look into, and what to pass along to the development team, can I get some more information from you?

• Does the issue (in your experience, or in general) occur with specific versions of FMOD Studio or the integrations?
  • Do you receive any extra info from FMOD, either on the Studio side of things, or in Unity/Unreal?
  • Is there a consistent/semi-consistent action or set of actions that reproduces the issue?

Any additional information you can provide would be much appreciated.

-It has been present with all versions of FMOD I have used (the past 7 years).
-No error messages or anything from Unreal/Unity/FMOD
-I haven’t found a way to reproduce the losing of connection. But will keep an eye (and ear) out.
It just stops updating/getting parameters from/to the game and you need to restart engine+fmod. Sometimes FMOD only

Thanks for looking into it.
Cheers :slight_smile:

My first guess would be that something else on your PC is interfering with the connection between FMOD Studio and Unity/Unreal - if you do run into the issue again, I would recommend checked whether any other processes are trying to use the same port as the one FMOD is. For example, on Windows you can get a list of all processes and the ports they are using with netstat -ano, and match the PID with the corresponding application in Task Manager β†’ Details.