Check if there is any dialog playing

hey guys!
im new to fmod unity and i have a question.
i have a general_speaker script used for my npcs that have dialog that plays their dialog.

is there a way for me to check if any other dialog is playing when the script tries to play a new dialog, so that we can either return if we cant interrupt that dialog, or stop the event instance of that previous dialog if we are allowed to interrupt?

here is my code as of now, which seems to work but after i added this unity crashes sometimes:

void PlayDialog(AI_Dialog targetDialog, bool forceInterruption = false)
        {
            //--CHECK IF THERE ARE ANY ECENTS PLAYING AND HANDLE INTERRUPTION OF THOSE EVENTS--
            //check if an event is playing
            if (PlayingInstance.isValid())
            {
                PlayingInstance.getPlaybackState(out PLAYBACK_STATE state);
                if (state != PLAYBACK_STATE.STOPPED)
                {
                    //but if we CAN interrupt. stop any playing voice lines
                    if (forceInterruption)
                        PlayingInstance.stop(STOP_MODE.IMMEDIATE);
                    else
                        return;
                }
            }
            //----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
            FMOD.Studio.EVENT_CALLBACK dialogueCallback = new FMOD.Studio.EVENT_CALLBACK(SentenceEventCallback);

PlayingInstance = FMODUnity.RuntimeManager.CreateInstance(targetDialog.audio);
            FMODUnity.RuntimeManager.AttachInstanceToGameObject(PlayingInstance, audioTransform);

PlayingInstance.setCallback(dialogueCallback);
            //Start the sound
            PlayingInstance.start();
            PlayingInstance.release();
        }

[AOT.MonoPInvokeCallback(typeof(EVENT_CALLBACK))]
        FMOD.RESULT SentenceEventCallback(EVENT_CALLBACK_TYPE type, System.IntPtr instancePtr, System.IntPtr parameterPtr)
        {
            try
            {