FMOD::Reverb3D objects have no effect

Hi guys

I am integrating fmod into an engine and I am now trying to get the environmental effects working. I am a complete noob in regards to audio design, so my understanding of fmod Studio is close to zero, which is probably where my problem comes from.

I have my listener and events working nicely and I got a looping sound playing. I have two Reverb3D instances, which have min and max distances of 10 and 20 and I use some of the environment presets (Underwater etc.). I would expect the effect to become more or less audible when the listener moves in and out of the reverb volumes. So far nothing happens, though. It seems I am simply missing some part to enable the effect on my sound events.

I assume I have to configure the event in fmod studio such, that the reverb volume values actually affect the sound? I was unable to find any clue in the documentation (neither programmers API, nor fmod Studio docs) and Google etc. also were not helpful so far.

Hello Jan,

When you say that you have two “Reverb3D instances” are you referring to sends or snapshots?

If you are looking at creating reverb zones, it would be best to use snapshots. Create a snapshot in your Mixer and scope in the Reverb3D return. Ensure that the reverb effect only has Wet applied to it and reduce the Dry to -80dB.

Then add a Reverb3D send to all groups and events that you wish to be affected by the reverb. Any groups/events without this send in will not be affected by the reverb snapshot.

Snapshots act like events, which you will need to trigger and play in your game engine.

Set all sends to be 0dB, the base Reverb3D return to -80dB, and then the snapshot scoped Reverb3D to 0dB. When the snapshot is enabled (ie. played) the Reverb3D return bus will increase in volume and apply reverb to everything with a send to it.

I hope this has been helpful.

Thanks,
Richard

1 Like

Hi Richard