Help With Ambience System

Hey guys!

I’m hoping someone can give me some advice on the smartest way to implement ambiences in a friend’s student project I’m working on as I’m new to Fmod and fairly new to Unity.

In the game you hop between people’s inner thought’s on a train, and each time time you enter someone’s head the train disappears and you’re transported to a different natural environment. Every character has a unique environment and you’re constantly jumping between character environment, train and back again.

I’ve designed all the the different ambiences including the train interior and set them up as individual events that loop in Fmod and just trying to wrap my head around how I’m going to implement this in Unity. Any advice or links to resources would be greatly appreciated!

There’s no “one true way” to do this.

That being said, it sounds like you want the player character to “teleport” abruptly from one location (with its own ambiance) to another on a regular basis. If you want to keep your game’s resource requirements down, I suggest starting each location’s ambiance only when the player character arrives at that location, and stopping the event instance when they leave.

If you find the transition from one ambiance to another too abrupt, I suggest adding an AHDSR modulator to the master track’s volume of each ambiance event so that they fade in or fade out over a short period of time whenever they’re started or stopped.

Thanks for the reply! This is probably the way to go, but after some thought I think I might try and keep the train ambience playing and then duck it when the characters environment comes up using snapshots.