How to make sound play only once?

I’m a FMOD beginner, the image probably describes better my question:

I created a “Speed” parameter that is used to modulate the pitch of “LoveBug_EngineDrive”. Also, and more important, it makes it fade from EngineIdle to EngineDrive. That means that when Speed is over 0.1 EngineDrive is triggered to play.

The problem I’m having happens when Speed rapidly varies between more than 0.1 and less than 0.1, because that triggers EngineDrive many times. You can see in the screenshot the arrows indicating that it’s being played multiple times.

It’s an engine sound, EngineDrive shouldn’t be played again when it’s already being played, is there a way to prevent that?

Thank you.

Hi Roberto,

You can achieve this by expanding the “Trigger Behavior” tab on the left hand side of the deck when the instrument is selected.

In here, set the Polyphony’s Limit to 1 and set the Stealing to None. This way only one instance of the instrument can be playing at one time, even if the playback position triggers the instrument multiple times.

You can also enable “Cut” on the instrument if you don’t want the instrument to keep playing after the playback position leaves the trigger region.

https://www.fmod.com/resources/documentation-studio?page=working-with-instruments.html#trigger-conditions

https://www.fmod.com/resources/documentation-studio?page=working-with-instruments.html#cut-and-modulation

Thanks,
Richard

1 Like