Mastering audio within FMod - how to prevent clipping

Hi guys,

I am extremely new to FMod so I apologize if this is an elementary question. However, if there is reading material on this subject please send it my way!

Question:
-I am used to mastering and exporting all of my own audio for television productions and usually have a master on a finished track with a limiter set to either -1.0 db or -0.3 db. Is it common to do any mastering for game audio before importing it into FMod? Or is it best practice to just leave lots of headroom to then allow for gain staging within FMod itself? I love my VSTs so I hesitate to use FMod’s native plugins to do my mastering/gain staging. Just wondering what is common practice.

The problem I ran into:
I have a track that I want to break up into layers to add as the player progresses, but my master started clipping because I didn’t leave enough head room on the stems before importing them to FMod. I figured I could fix this by slapping on FMod’s limiter on the master as a temporary fix as I learn more about FMod but the native limiter introduced a lot of artifacts and distortion. Again, I am a mega-noob but I am just wondering if I am doing something wrong with the built in limiter or just not doing proper preparations of gain staging before importing my files.

Also, say I have the background track and then start introducing sound effects, is it common practice to have a limiter on the entire FMod project so it never breaches 0 db? With this limiter, or at least the way I am using it seems like it could introduce artifacts…is there just a common practice of having lots of head room in all game audio?

Sorry for the noob question, any insight or materials you can point me to is much appreciated :smiley: I attached a screen shot of my project for reference.

Hi!

The answers to your questions are very much informed by the realtime nature of game audio when compared to most other audio processing contexts.