Plasma Pistol

Hello all
I am running FMOD Studio 1.05 on a Mac.

Those who have ever played a game in the Halo franchise should be familiar with the mechanics of the plasma pistol. If the player simply presses and releases the trigger, an uncharged shot is fired. If the player presses and holds the trigger, the pistol charges until the player releases the trigger, firing a charged shot.
This design calls for several stages of audio.

If press-and-release:
-trigger click
-uncharged shot

If press-and-hold:
-trigger click
-initial charge
-charge loop (plays after the weapon is fully charged, until the weapon is fired)
-charged shot

If weapon is depleted:
-trigger click with empty clip warning

I have some questions about this, most all of them having to do with the fact that I am new to the software and have minimal knowledge of it. I have imported the sounds and made a multi-track event, but I do not know how to make the corresponding triggers that result in the various outcomes. So… now what?

I’m not familiar with the intricacies of how Halo’s sound designers approached this problem, but one possible solution would be to use the logic track: a transition region that covers the initial charge and charge loop, and a loop region around the charge loop, would allow you to control the entire event with a single ‘trigger depressed’ parameter.

1 Like

I’ve realized that the most efficient way to do this would be to have just 2 main sound files. The first file would consist of everything from the trigger being pulled to the charge, and the second file would be the actual shot being fired. I just don’t know how to make conditions like “trigger depressed”, or how any of that really works.

First, put your two sound files on the timeline as timelocked single sound modules (i.e.: just drag each of them on to the timeline). Separate them out a bit; You don’t need them to overlap.