Snapshots... excluding with positive gain values ok?

I’m kind of new to FMOD (coming from several years w other tools) so this maybe a ‘read the manual’ answer - but am wondering if my solution has problems I may not be thinking of.

Say I have a huge bomb the player can throw, triggering an explosion event, and I want to duck just about everything… EXCEPT for a couple bus group children. IE Death VOs. I want the player to get a payoff when their bomb kills a monster - but don’t want to hear any other vocalizations that may be happening when the explosion happens.

The problem is, to ‘exclude’ a child, I you’d need scope on all siblings and not the parent, which can be cumbersome. OR, you could create a no-duck bus, but that also comes with maintenance/organizational overhead.

Solution: scope in the parent - and than add inverse (positive) gain to the one child you want to “exclude” from the snapshot. IE add -10db to a parent bus group, and +10 to the child that you’d like to “exclude”.

(One limitation is you only get 10dB of positive gain on the slider).

This makes it pretty quick and easy to add a bunch of parent busses and only have to add children you want to “exclude”.

I’d imagine FMOD sums all gain values each audio frame before applying gain to a source - and then applies it once - and this should be fine. Am I correct?

Thanks!

This method will work.

It may be easier, however, to create a group bus into which all the buses-to-be-ducked are routed, or to use a VCA to control the volumes of multiple buses. Group buses and VCAs are both relatively cheap in terms of resources, and so are unlikely to put a noticeable dint in your resource budget.