Audio stuttering

Hi, I am developing a game and testing it in my Unity editor (Windows 11).

In the game you are a person walking in streets and there are a lot of cars, so I made a script in Unity that checks if there are nearby cars (at max 5) every frame, and for each of them I do RuntimeManager.PlayOneShot(carEngineSound, carPosition).
For now I don’t even stop sounds if there aren’t enough cars nearby because I just installed FMOD today and I am still a noob, but I can see in the FMOD Studio Debug I don’t have memory issues or things like that.

Now when I test it (in the editor, can’t test in a build because of a Unity bug), the FPS is good (around 60 fps) but I hear a lot of stuttering in the sounds of the engine, like the car engine sounds are playing correctly but very frequently they are suddenly mute for some frames and then they become unmute… It’s unusable right now

Hi,

Could I get you to provide a code snippet of how you’re calling RuntimeManager.PlayOneShot()?

This issue can be caused by having too many streaming assets streaming at once. When an asset it set to “stream” in FMOD Studio’s Asset browser, instead of being loaded into memory in its entirety before playback, the asset streamed from your storage media (i.e. loaded piece by piece on demand) during playback. This can be useful for saving memory, but most systems cannot support running a large amount of concurrent streams at once, which can lead to stuttering behavior like you’re describing. If the asset(s) you’re using for your event is set to stream in FMOD Studio, can you toggle it off and see if that resolves the issue?