FMOD studio vs others

I’m brand new to FMOD and just starting to get into the interactive audio side of gaming, branching out from my composition background

What is the difference between FMOD studio and some of the others? Im having a hard time finding this out on my own since I’m not very familiar with FMOD period.

Hi, like the OP I’m coming from a compositional background and looking to get into professional sound design for games.

I’m just wondering which version of Fmod you would recommend for a novice? My only previous experience of somewhat related software is Ableton Live, and I have no idea what to look for here. Studio looks like an excellent tool, especially coming from a DAW background, but what is the difference between the API version and the normal version? I’ve looked at the link posted above and the PDF, but am still having trouble grasping what the differences are.

I’d also like to know if the included tutorials etc. include example games, or something where I might be able to get to grips with implementing the audio created into a practise project?

Cheers

Just to be clear, I’m not a hit-and-run poster; I am checking this forum regularly and any time spent formulating a reply to my query will not be wasted, for I will be putting the information to good use. =]

The Programmer’s API, as you might expect, is very programmer-oriented. Technically, it allows access to all the same functionality that the tool does, but it’s not focused on content creation the same way the tool is. Instead, it’s built to make it easy to connect, manage and trigger the many events and resources that game audio needs.