[FMOD/Unity]Having trouble with adaptive music in 2D unity levels

Hi there I’ve been going through all the unity demos doing sound replacement with FMOD and I’ve run into a very frustrating problem. I managed to create an adaptive music system perfectly fine within the survival shooter demo but when moving on to the 2d roguelike and platformer demos the functions ive created in my music manager script are being returned null when called. I cant seem to figure out why, I’m no programmer but I’ve copied exactly what I’ve done in the survival shooter demo, been over my code hundreds of times, no spelling errors it simply doesnt make sense to me why the game would return my functions null.

To go into more detail i have a music manager gameobject in the hierarchy with a script attached to manage the music (duh).

public class MusicManager : MonoBehaviour {

public static MusicManager instance = null;

[FMODUnity.EventRef]
public string music = “event:/Music/Music”;
FMOD.Studio.EventInstance musicEv;

private void Awake()
{
if (instance == null)

//if not, set instance to this
    instance = this;

//If instance already exists and it's not this:
else if (instance != this)

Destroy(gameObject);

DontDestroyOnLoad(gameObject);

}

//Use this for initialization
void Start()
{
musicEv = FMODUnity.RuntimeManager.CreateInstance(music);

musicEv.start();

}

public void death()
{
musicEv.setParameterValue(“death”, 1f); ///<-------line 40
}

}

then in the appropriate script where the game ends on the player death ive made a reference to the music manager with

public MusicManager musicSystem;

and at the game end section of code we have

public void CheckIfGameOver() 

{
GameManager.instance.GameOver ();

musicSystem.death();

}