Help achieving a military-style walkie-talkie effect

FMOD beginner here. I’m working on a first-person multiplayer game where players can pick up walkie-talkies in the level and use them to talk to each other regardless of how far away they are. I will be adding this effect to a mixer bus. I found a video that demonstrates the effect I am looking for:

What effect would I use to accomplish this? And if possible, what would be the effect’s configuration?

Thank you

Hi,

The FMOD Studio Examples project included with the FMOD Studio download has an event: Radio Dialogue "C:\Users\XXX\Documents\FMOD Studio\examples\Examples.fspro". This event is set up to sound like a walkie-talkie, it may point you in the right direction for setting up your event.

Hope this helps.

Hey Anshu, the effect in your video is a bitcrusher which is distortion you’d only hear on digital devices. You won’t get quite the same effect but the distortion plugin in FMOD will sound more like and analog radio. On your “radio voice” bus, all you really need is a 3-EQ, make a bandpass by dropping the gain of the highs and lows (and possibly playing with the slope), and then place a distortion after it. Extra might be adding a compressor or limiter before the distortion so players’ voices are all uniform in volume.

For the radio static, I’d make a separate event that has the radio hiss loop, with a starting and stopping sample. Similar to the on in the FMOD example.