How to move an FMod session to another computer when the session is linked to a unity project?

Hi, I’m a newbie in FMod and this might be a newbie question.

I’m an audio director working remotely for an indie game studio through GitHub.
But since I’m quitting the job at the end of this month, I need to give my current FMod session(that has audio events and routings integrated into the game’s Unity project) to the next audio director who’s gonna be in charge. The new audio director and I are not in the same city so we can only do so remotely. How can we do this? Thank you!

Hi,

There is the option to Package the project under File -> Package Project
Note you will have to save the project before packaging.
Since you will want to share everything with the new engineer you will want to select all the options in the Packaging window

The engineer will want to make sure they have at minimum the same major FMOD version as you e.g. 2.0X and they can open the package as they would any other FMOD Studio project.

Hope this helps!

Thanks a lot, Connor!

Actually, I have another question. So, after packaging the project and sending it to the new audio director, is it necessary for her to redo the FMod Unity integration process? The process that I went through the first time I linked this FMod session on my desktop to the game’s Unity project.

Hi,

That will depend on how FMOD Studio is included in your source control. Could you elaborate on how you have done this?

Yes. So I followed the instructions from this youtube video:
FMOD + Unity Integration (2.01.05) 2021

To summarize my FMOD+Unity integration steps:
I downloaded the FMod for Unity package and then imported it into the game’s Unity project. Then, I created an audio folder in the Unity project. After that, I went to my FMod session’s Preferences - Build, and chose the audio folder I just created in Unity as the built banks’ output directory.