How to tell which snapshot is currently active/active by default

Hello all. I am extremely new to FMOD, and I have been instructed to make two snapshots that are called Normal and Underwater. In the underwater snapshot, there is a lowpass filter that makes it sound, well, underwater, and there’s nothing in the normal snapshot except 0s on all the gains. I’m in the event editor, and sometimes when I play the event, the sound sounds underwater despite me clicking normal in the snapshot menu. Obviously, if I apply a snapshot instrument, it will sound like the corresponding snapshot for the duration of that instrument. However, immediately afterwards, it will revert back to the underwater snapshot which it considers to be “active”. Clicking a different snapshot in the mixer view does not seem to do anything. It still sounds underwater even though I clicked normal. Can anyone help?

I may have fixed it-- I clicked the play button on the snapshot. But still kinda weird.

Nope, weird stuff is still happening. When I put a snapshot instrument down, it doesn’t seem to do anything.

To address a point of confusion, neither of the snapshots is active by default. Snapshots are treated like events: They’re instance-able, and the default number of playing instances of each snapshot is zero.

Triggering a snapshot instrument creates and plays an instance of the associated snapshot, in exactly the same way that triggering an event instrument creates and plays an instance of the associated event.

When instances of multiple different snapshots that affect the same properties are playing, the top-most snapshot in the snapshots browser is the one that takes priority. (This is a simplification, but is correct for many simple cases.)

I reccomend reading our documentation on snapshots to learn more about them. That being said, the problem you’re experiencing is something more fundamental.