Is it possible to detect completely blank audio within Unity?

Hi,

Total newbie here. I am recording audio within Unity to send it to a speech to text (STT) model and use it in game. Unfortunately the STT doesn’t process audio that is completely blank. For example, the user pressed the record button, but doesn’t speak anything.

In this case I want to be able to differentiate between such blank audio and audio that actually has speech in it, so that I can handle it myself before sending it to the STT.

So, is there any way to do it? Also, is there a way to trim out silence parts of a recording and retain only the parts where the user actually spoke?

I tried googling, looked at docs… But it’s hard for me to find anything, cos as I already mentioned I’m a newbie and don’t even understand many terms that are being used.

So, I would appreciate greatly, if someone could point me to some resource which can help me or help me directly.

Thanks a lot

Hi,

We have a scripting example outlining adding a DSP to the master ChannelGroup to create a visualizer: Unity Integration | Scripting Examples - DSP Capture. We can then track the value of mDataBuffer, a non-zero value indicating audio. Please note, that this will track all audio being output as the DSP is on the master channel group, if you only want to track the mic input then the DSP will have to be added to its own channel group.

In terms of only processing an audible signal, an option could be only passing in the sample data when mDataBuffer has a non-zero value.

Hope this helps!

I already have the float sample data with me. But, it seems to have non-zero values for empty audio too. Any idea what could be causing it? Is it just the background noise the mic is picking up and if so, is there a way to handle it?

The recording is done in RuntimeManager.CoreSystem.recordStart so, I think it’s using the Master Channel Group. Could that be the cause of the issue? If so, how can I use a separate channel group for this?