Lost progress; How does it save?

Hi, long story short, I lost months’ work of progress. Probably because of my stupid ignorance. Github has done something and I find myself back to a project state around may this year. I want to know how exactly fmod saves its project since the .fspro file doesn’t seem to include much. I would like to know how exactly events, snapshots, etc. are saved, and possible ways to recover them. I have an ‘exported’ version, but I’m pretty sure that’s of no use.

For whatever strange reasons, assets are still there as far as I can tell. The only thing that is missing, or that’s not loading, either way… is the files that I guess tells fmod what kind of events exists or how they are placed. Most of the events are gone, leaving me with few events that I first created when I started the project. I’m sorry if I sound stupid, I’m not a professional and I do this for fun. That said I should’ve taken much more care to this.

The game I use it for is X-Plane, so the version is 1.08, so that’s the version I use.

If there are no way to recover, I recently moved my system from one hard drive to another. This means that I still have a working - although little older - copy of my project. I want to be 1000% sure I safely recover that in case nothing works. If there’s something fmod saves outside of a project folder, please tell me, since I don’t want to lose any further progress.

And finally, a way to prevent this from happening again. What other methods, than just Github, should I use? What does “Package Project” do… would that be useful?

I realize it’s a ton of questions, I’m sorry, I’m freaking out right now. If there’s any answers, I really really appreciate them. Thank you.