Send changes when parameter is changed from local to global?

I want to have 2 different reverbs. Small and large.
The idea is to detect room size and then send, from the event (footsteps in this case), to the corresponding reverb, depending on the detected room size. I want real 3d position of the reverb.
I also want to be able to control how much reverb is being sent, by distance.

I have a parameter called “PlayerRoomSize”.
When the paramter is above 200, a reverb (large) send on the event should be turned up. When below 200, the reverb send should be turned down.
(and small reverb turning up, but have removed this functionality so it’s easier to explain stuff).

I have a send on the master channel of the event. I automate that with the “PlayerRoomSize” parameter and also with the “Distance” parameter (built in).
The idea is to have control over how much reverb is being sent over distance and also adjust it depending on the size of the room.

This works if the parameter called “PlayerRoomSize” is set to local, but doestn work when set to global (inside FMOD).

I plan on having lot’s of sounds use this system and I don’t want to have to “event instance set parameter”, on all the different sounds. I would like to just have a global value depending on the size of the room the player is in.

If set to global in FMOD, the send is greyed out and sends no matter what. If not set to global it works fine.

Is this intended? Why? How can I work around this?

I thought about using the global parameter and then letting that affect another parameter inside FMOD and set that to local, but it turns out that when you do that, the new parameter becomes read only and doestn move.
Thanks

When you say “it doesn’t work,” what actually happens? When I test here, global parameters and local parameters are equally able to automate send values.