[Solved][LINUX] FMOD Studio lowlevel API error

I’m new to the FMOD world, and have started using FMOD Studio (1.04.00) lowlevel API on Linux today, but I’m getting the following error when running my application:

ALSA lib pcm.c:6984:(snd_pcm_slave_conf) missing field rate
FMOD error! (58) Error initializing output device.

I’ve also tried to run some examples (play_sound, effects) and they are failing too:

[i]A fatal error has occurred…

FMOD error 58 - Error initializing output device.

Press Q to quit[/i]

My machine is running Slackware-current 64 bits, with ALSA (no PulseAudio installed) version 1.0.27 and g++ version 4.8.3. Both my application (a simple test, since I’ll use it on a game I’m developing) and the FMOD examples had no errors when compiling (tried release and debug), and I have tried forcing the output to use ALSA and AUTODETECT, without luck.

Anyone having the same problem on Linux?

Nice! I was trying to figure out how to test if a driver is valid or not, but with this latest release it’s working now.

Thank you!

Thanks Mathew, 1.04.02 is working great for me too. (And sorry for hijacking the thread with a separate issue. :oops: )

Still getting the same problem with latest version (1.04.01)

I’ve found the cause of the problem. I have installed alsa-plugins on my machine (as I need a custom sound system running on my machine, that uses samplerate and downmix).

The alsa-plugins is optional, but when it’s installed, FMOD fails to start. As a temporally workaround I’ve removed alsa-plugins from on of my machines and now it’s working. but it isn’t really solve the problem.

Thank you both for your log output, you have revealed two bugs.