Sound Scatterer Question

Hello and thanks for reading.

I am new to Fmod though I have read through most all of the manual at this point. A couple times.

I have a very simple situation I am trying to set up, however I am not getting the results I am expecting.

I am trying to use Sound Scatterer to play through my playlist (so far so good), with Intervals Between Sounds (hey there is a slider for that!).

It seems easy right? One sound plays, then it SHOULD wait for a time, based on the “Interval Between Sounds” slider. Then it should play the next sound. At least, this is how I understand it.

I cannot get it to wait/pause. -.-

If Sound 1 plays in the playlist, I want it to wait for 3 seconds, then trigger Sound #2, then wait for 3 seconds, then trigger Sound #3… (so on and so forth).

The Scatterer module simply goes through the playlist, triggering the next sound as soon as the previous is done playing. It’s as if the Interval Between Sounds slider does nothing at all…

I’m up a creek here with no paddles, no sandwiches and only enough juice in my cell phone to make this call… to you lovely folks on the Fmod forum, who can hopefully help! :smiley:

Thanks VERY much for your time and for reading/replying.

Best,
Liam

Are you using a Loop Region? If so, I believe it will just retrigger on each loop and ignore the interval setting.

Try using a Sustain Point instead. That appears to work correctly with the interval.

1 Like

The “Interval between sounds” property specifies the amount of time that passes between the start of one sound and the start of the next. This is because the intended purpose of scatterer sound modules is to support ambience where many small, discrete sounds are starting and ending independently.