Sub events Overiding parents

Hello!

I am new to Fmod (coming from wwise) and I tried to understand behaviours of the sound engine in my case I wanted to know what happened If you create multiple events sound (nested event) within an event and that your sub-events have different distance attenuation on their master track, will their overide the master distance attenuation of their parent event?

In my example I have a parent ‘Sfx_Gadget_Grenade’ event (distance attenuation of 80 m) and their sub events (event sound module) ‘Sfx_Explo” and Sfx_Detonation’ have distance attenuation about 20 m. I don’t have a game yet to test it so I wanted to know what is happening in that case.

Attenuation due to distance is applied to the signal flowing through the track that contains the 3D Panner effect or volume automation that applyies the attenuation. In most events, this means the master track.

An event instance functions as a mini mixer: Each track is a bus, and all the tracks it contains eventually route into the master track.

Therefore, if a nested event contains distance attenuation, that attenuation will affect its output, which is routed into the parent event. If that parent event contains distance attenuation as well, that attenuation will also be applied, resulting in the signal being attenuated due to distance twice.

So, to answer your question, the content of the nested or referenced event will be affected by both sets of attenuation, but content that originates in the parent event will be affected only by attenuation in the parent event. (Of course, that’s assuming that the attenuation is on the master track in both events, and that no sends are involved; There’s a number of less common but equally-valid ways to structure an event.)

1 Like