Trigger a timeline sub event within a parameter event

Hello there, I’m a beginner to Fmod (or any game audio software to be honest) and even if I understood most of the features (thanks to the great documentation) I’m struggling with a problem .

So suppose I have this level where I want music and ambiances to play , but sometimes ( i.e. when a timer is triggered) I want this music to change to another and other effects .

I created a parameter event that allows me to play the music 1 and fx 1 on a specific value and music 2 and Fx 2 on another value . Music 2 and FX 2 are nested in an new event whithin the parameter event and contains sustain points.
The nested event is a timeline event . What I was hoping to happen is that when the parameter event trigger the nested event it would start the timeline and allow me to use cues from the main event display .

I’m I doing this the wrong way ? Is there a way ?

Thanks for any advice . Anyway, it is a great soft, and I’ll keep using it.

Cheers.

I’m not entirely clear on your setup. Are you using sub events, event sound modules, or event reference sound modules? Is the problem you’re experiencing that you need to ‘key off’ sustain points in an event from that event’s parent event?

Yeah it is a bit confusing so I made screenshots :

http://postimg.org/image/4iecf89gz/ : This is the event. Highlighted in yellow is the event sound module that disturbs me .

http://postimg.org/image/jh6modw21 : When I open that event sound module, this screen appear . My true question being, when there is a nested event like this , what happens on it’s level if I press play on the parent event transport bar ? I think what you mean by “key off” sustain points from event’s parent is what I’m trying to achieve .

Thanks for the help Joseph!