Trigger sound effect upon parameter change

Hi,

I’m a beginner just doing my first project in FMOD Studio after following some tutorials and reading up on the documentation.

I have my first project pretty nicely setup, except for one thing that I don’t seem to be able to implement: the triggering of an instrument to play upon parameter change.

Here’s the idea: I have some background ambience music playing constantly. Upon the change of value of a binary parameter (discrete parameter with minimun value 0 and maximum value 1) I need two things to happen:

• when the parameter goes from 0 to 1, I need the volume of the continuous ambience track to go up
  • when the parameter goes from 1 ot 0, I need a short sound effect to be played and the ambience volume to be turned down

I can easily manage the ambience volume part through parameter bound automation of the volume. But how do I add that sound effect to be played? Mind that it is not a transition, nor the triggering of a loop. I simply need the ambience to continue to be played, but at a higher/lower volume.

Thanks a lot for your insights!

Hi and welcome!

Just to precise some things:

• If you use discrete parameter instead of continuous, you won’t be able to have a smooth volume change ; isn’t it a problem?
  • How is set your main loop? A synced single instrument within a loop region? (a screenshot would help)
  • You want your short sound effect to by played at 0 except at the beginning (0 being the default value), correct?

Depending of your answer to the 2 first questions, there’s several possibilities for the third point.
Actually, if you stay with a discrete parameter (which I won’t do, when volume automation is involved), it’s rather simple: a parameter sheet playing the sound at 0, and a third default value for the beginning (say -1).
If you want your discrete parameter to trigger a smooth volume change, it could be done by a snapshot (but requires some special routing to the project mixer).