Can code from Unity communicate general game state to FMOD? Have I got FMOD totally wrong?

Hi,
New to FMOD and new to Unity.
My profession is in Audio and composition.

Before I even begin, I want to say that I have done hours and hours of research on youtube and on the FMOD site but because of my “extreme” gap of knowledge within coding and basic software dev for games, I really feel I need someones guidance on this, as it’s difficult for me to answer.

So, the question is from my programmer:

Can I communicate general game state to FMOD?

• that is, not associated with any particular event (like a tower shooting).

Example game state:
isInGameplay: true
currentMap: Volcano Lair
numberOfWaypointsRemaining: 20 percent
numberOfEnemiesAlive: 43
numberOfMobEnemiesAlive: 36
numberOfRobotEnemiesAlive: 7

Then, can you use this information as the FMOD user without being associated with any particular event?

An example of what I mean is:
Play the menu / gameplay track
Increase music intensity because there’s only one waypoint left
Add and intensify a mob ambience based on the number of “mob enemies” (e.g. humans, brutes) alive
Add and intensify a different ambience based on the number of “robot enemies” (e.g. tank bots, bomb bots) alive
Whatever else you like, ideally without even having to leave FMOD?

• Basically, I think my programmer is just wanting to know how much he does and doesn’t need to do.
    He’s trying to find the most efficient way to code the game, obviously, the less code he does and the more I can manipulate, the better.
    He’s just struggling to know what FMOD can really do and what infomation it can actually use from code source.

Thankyou, Rob

This is a complex question, and its answer is somewhere between yes and no.