Celeste crashing on startup (Epic Games version)

Hi,
I am new to FMOD, and I’m willing to use the Live Update to give an in-depth look at the cool sound design in this awesome game :slight_smile:

I am running the Epic Games Store version of the game (and I guess that’s the problem in fact, but I don’t know what I can do with it), and I followed the Celeste Getting Started Guide step by step.

Everything works fine until I run the game. The first screen (Matt Makes Games) appears, freezes instantly, the game crashes and I’m back to desktop. Notepad opens and gives me that error :

Ver 1.3.0.0
12/09/2019 17:53:55
System.Exception: FMOD Failed: ERR_VERSION
à Celeste.Audio.CheckFmod(RESULT result) dans C:\Projects\C#\Celeste\Celeste\Celeste\Static\Audio.cs:ligne 108
à Celeste.Audio.Banks.Load(String name, Boolean loadStrings) dans C:\Projects\C#\Celeste\Celeste\Celeste\Static\Audio.cs:ligne 675
à Celeste.GameLoader.LoadThread() dans C:\Projects\C#\Celeste\Celeste\Celeste\Scenes\GameLoader.cs:ligne 64
à Celeste.RunThread.RunThreadWithLogging(Action method) dans C:\Projects\C#\Celeste\Celeste\Celeste\Static\RunThread.cs:ligne 33

Any idea on how I can fix that ? Thanks !

From the looks of the error, the FMOD Studio dlls and the built banks don’t match.

Please ensure you’re using FMOD Studio version 1.10 to build your banks.

Hello!
Yesterday I tried the same and I got the same error. If you keep the original Desktop folder and build the banks through the project you get from here and compare the two results, you will notice differences both in number and in naming convention between the default banks and the ones you build through the FMOD project downloaded from here. To be more specific, 2 default banks have the word “DLC” in it, which is never mentioned in the banks from the FMOD learning project. Also, the default banks have 1 more bank (probably a DLC one).