FMOD Studio: Encountered Error: ERR_VERSION The version of this file format is not supported

Hello,

I am a music composer in the process of learning how to use FMOD and Unity. I’ve successfully set up both programs, and run the music through FMOD, however when I try to open the project in Unity, I get the following error:

“FMOD Studio: Encountered Error: ERR_VERSION The version of this file format is not supported.”

I imagine I will have to import a different FMOD integration package, but I have no idea which version. Also I’m not sure how to delete previous packages? (When I try to delete the “packages” folder or anything contained within it, the delete option is greyed out).

When I downloaded all these programs I simply got the latest version of each, so I’m confused as to why there is a version problem…

Here are the versions I’m working with:

Unity: version 2019.3.0a3 (personal)

FMOD studio: 2.00.01

FMOD integration package: 2.00.01 (early access)

Any help would be very much appreciated! Thank you!!

The first thing to try would be manually deleting the banks from both the StreamingAssets folder and the Studio build directory.

If that doesn’t work, close Unity and manually delete the plugin folder (Assets/Plugins/FMOD) then re-import it.

Thank you for your reply- I manually deleted FMOD and imported a different FMOD integration package (11013_v2) and the FMOD tab reappeared.

The problem now is that when I go to assign the FMOD event to a game object (add component-> FMOD Studio event emitter), when I search for the linked FMOD event it tells me “No FMOD Studio banks loaded. Please check your settings”. I have assigned the event to the master bank in FMOD and clicked “Build”, then refreshed banks in the FMOD tab in Unity.

No error messages at this point, but there is the little speech bubble with the “!” in it at the bottom, saying “FMOD Studio: Creating editor system instance”.

Any help would be very much appreciated, thank you.

12%20AM