Control Individual Channels from Interleaved Wav File

Hi,

I’m new to FMOD and I’m trying to understand how I can have a multichannel (8 channels) wave file and control the volume and pan of each channel (or pair of channels) inside Unity (or what I should create inside FMOD to allow this).

I want to have a multichannel music being controller by the user. Ideally would be to send each channel to specific buses and from there control the level, pan, eq and other sends (like reverbs).

Is it possible inside FMOD or inside UNITY?

Thanks!!

I’m pretty sure it’s not possible (EDIT : I was wrong, it’s possible), but why don’t you simply break down the multichannel file to multiple files and import them on multiple tracks?

That’s too sad.

I tried to open multiple files in multiple tracks, but I got sync issues.

Do you have any solution?

I tried both using only unity and via fmod.

However, working with multi-tracks, exporting multiple stems from a DAW and importing them in FMOD is an absolutely commun workflow, so you shouldn’t have any problem.
Which DAW or software do you use to break down your file? Are you sure it is syncron in the DAW when you do this?

Importing is ok. It works.
The problem happens when I need to change volumes of the tracks, for example.
The more it advances, the more out of sync it gets.

It’s not a problem inside the DAW for sure.
I use Reaper.

Sometimes it plays in sync, sometimes out of sync after some time.

Could you share a screenshot of your main event on multiple tracks? Is it a loop?

1 Like

No. It’s not a loop file. These are stems of a whole song.
I had some Parameters created to adjust volume, but I decided to remove and wait for your help.

And below is the one single multichannel wave file.

I’m sorry if this is too dumb question, but I’m starting with FMOD, although I have decades of experience with DAW. Maybe I’m thinking the traditional way and it might work differently here.