Different 2D (stereo) atmospheres depending on the height of the player?

Hi there everyone.
I hope this is not going to be too much of a noobie question, but: I´d like to create two separate atmospheres that would not change when player moves or rotates the camera - but would slowly crossfade each other when player would enter certain height in the level. Is this possible? I am just slowly getting into FMOD and I am no programmer - so the easier the solution, the better. I know how to work with 3D timeline event, I understand how distance parameter attenuates other parameters by creating envelopes etc - but if I understand it correctly, you simply cannot “walk away” from a 2D stereo atmosphere, that is looping all over the place and is not applied to any specific object. I know how I would do this if I wanted to crossfade several sounds/effects depending on my distence IF these were 3D events. But what about 2D? How to tell FMOD/Unreal engine to start fading in other 2D event as soon as I enter certain height (for example a top floor of some room, or a top of a hill…)? Or is it in how I set stuff up in Unreal engine (like creating some kind of a box which would represent an area, where it would trigger another event and slowly fade the first one?..) ?
I hope I wrote it understandably, sorry if my english little chaotic.

Hi, the best way imo would be to send height as a parameter of the 2D event instance and set the desired automation related to this parameter in FMOD (as you said 3D events aren’t maid to use only one of 3 coordinates).
If your 2 ambiances hasn’t any timing relationship, you could instead easily use UE built-in sound engine, but since you’re using FMOD, stick with it.

As Alcibiade says, a sensible option would be to automate the volumes of your two atmospheres on a game parameter that represents in-game altitude.