Equivalent to Unity Audio Source - Android Build

Hi there!

I’m a rookie to fmod, but I’m starting to get an idea of the great functionality of it. Fantastic! OK, enough schmoozing ;). Here my questions:

I’m building an Android music composer app, with a step sequencer, arranger a.s.o.
Therefore I use the MIDI Player Toolkit from Thierry Bachman which is a FluidSynth integration and therefore a soundfont player. That gives me the possibility of having a real sampler in the background including keyboard splits and velocity zones.

So if I could bring this together with FMOD Core functionality, I’d have the big advantage of AAudio (OpenSL ES) integration and I’m really keen on integrating the sound effects like compressor, EQ, distortion a.s.o.

For that I’d need some equivalent of an Audio Source from the native Unity sound integration, as the MTPK Scripts pass their audio through to those.

Is it possible to script an equivalent for that, and also using effects and influencing their parameters directly from a script?

FMOD Studio does not currently support streaming the output of third-party samplers into FMOD Studio events. The FMOD Core API can handle streams outside of events, but as of the time of writing (June of 2020) the FMOD Unity integration requires the use of events to produce audio, making the particular combination you describe impossible to achieve in the current FMOD Unity integration.

Dear joseph,

thank you for your reply. Actually I get an audio stream from the sampler that looks approx. like this:

(int i = 0; i < buffersize; i++)

{
int j = (block + i) * 2;

data[j + 0] = left_buf[i] * Volume;

data[j + 1] = right_buf[i] *Volume;

}

Could you please describe to me, how I can pass the stream to FMOD Core API, or is there maybe a sample code that I could review?

Kind regards, MisterIX.

Hi,
The function you should use in the core API is
https://fmod.com/resources/documentation-api?version=2.1&page=core-api-system.html#system_createdsp