FMOD Pixel Streaming

Hi Guys,

I am new to the entire FMod system and wanted a question before I started exploring further. I’ve seen threads that try to capture FMod mix straight inside the pixel stream but this is not what I was looking for.

The pixel streaming module has direct support for pushing audio straight over a stream, essentially I just need a C++ interface to extract the raw audio data as its played in FMod. https://dev.epicgames.com/documentation/en-us/unreal-engine/API/Plugins/PixelStreaming/IPixelStreamingAudioInput

So if I can access the raw FMod data, I can send it directly. This is because inside my project, I have multiple streamed cameras.

So you are wanting to have multiple streamed cameras, and stream the audio data as heard from each of those camera positions to multiple clients simultaneously?

In FMOD, listeners are just points in space used for calculating the pan attributes of spatialized sounds. In the case of multiple listeners, the only way you can split the final mixed signal by listener is to zero out all but one listener with Studio::System::setListenerWeight.
You can then use a custom DSP with an FMOD_DSP_READ_CALLBACK to get the raw audio data from the master channel group, as you have read elsewhere, and send it along to the relevant client using IPixelStreamingAudioInput::PushAudio.

The problem is that this would make all other listeners silent, so you would only be able to do this for one listener at a time, which is not what you want if you are hoping to have multiple clients connecting to different camera positions simultaneously.
The way to work around this would be to have one FMOD::Studio::System object per camera, with each System playing its own copy of events. Keeping all of these events in sync however could be a challenge, and you are limited to a maximum of 8 System objects, so you could only have 8 cameras at once.