Load bank hanging

Hi,

I have some problems with FMOD_Studio_System_LoadBankFile. I’m trying to use the C API on my Mac (10.8.5), since I didn’t get the linker to work on my PC (using MinGW).

The problem is that when I call FMOD_Studio_System_LoadBankFile it just hangs indefinitely. I’ve tried passing the flag FMOD_STUDIO_LOAD_BANK_NONBLOCKING to the call and then looped polling the status with FMOD_Studio_Bank_GetLoadingState(). That always returned the value 2: “loading in progress” (FMOD_STUDIO_LOADING_STATE_LOADING).

I’m a FMOD beginner so I may have missed something basic. I did a Build from within FMOD Studio and put the “Master Bank.bank” where my program could find it. I also copied the “Master Bank.strings.bank” file to this same directory. Do I need to put something else here?

Do the bank files include the audio data itself, or do I have to move the wav files to somewhere?

I’m compiling using clang with C++ 11.

I’ve gotten the lowlevel API to work fine, both on Mac OS (clang, C++ 11) and Windows (with MinGW, C++ 11, using the C API to avoid name mangling problems with the Visual Studio dll). But I’m having much more problems with the Studio API it seems.

I really want to get this working for a game that me and a few friends are working on :).

It sounds like you have a static initialisation order issue. Is the sound_system singleton object defined as a static object, rather than being created inside the sound_system::get_instance() function? If so, it will be initialised at static initialisation time. Since the order in which static objects are initialised is undefined, your sound_system singleton may be getting initialised before static objects inside FMOD, causing all sorts of issues.

It gets initialized inside get_instance(), so it’s very strange. I’ve also added debugging prints, to be sure.

sound_system& sound_system::get_instance()
{
	static sound_system instance;
	return instance;
}