Pausing an event smoothly

Hi everyone,
I made some searches on this forum but I sadly cannot get my head around this problem, so I hope I will not stir a pot that has already been stirred too much :slight_smile:

I am a composer, I am currently using FMOD to put music in a game, and we are currently designing the way sounds get paused when pausing the game. I am not a developer though so my knowledges are limited to basic functions, so please excuse me if some stuff I say are a bit unprecise or ingenuous.

To be clear, what we want is basically pausing the music so it doesn’t goes out of sync with the gameplay, since some music is synced with actions in the game.

I am already aware of the different ways to pause an event (the “setPaused” method and the “get/setTimelinePosition with event stopping and starting again in between” method) but neither are really satisfying for the following reasons :

• setPaused pauses the music (yes) but does it abruptly without any fade out, even creating clicks sometimes which is unpleasant. Same goes when unpausing the game. We are using this method for now but is not satisfactory for the aformentioned reasons, and basically it would be perfect if it could trigger a fade-in/fade-out ;

• get/setTimelinePosition is not satisfactory either since we are already using an ADSR enveloppe for when the game transitions from the end of a level to the next one, and the release is quite long (3-4 seconds), which is not compatible with a pause state (a 100ms fade out should be enough for our needs). I am also unsure of what happens with the different parameters used during playback in this case.

I was thinking of another solution but I am not sure it is possible : to call a fadeout/fadein on the corresponding event from the code specifically for the setPaused state, and maybe add a setTimelinePosition before setPaused being set untrue to counterbalance the time lost during fadeout.

What do you think we can do ?