Popping when looping music, my mistake?

Hello,

I’m fairly new to all this, so this may just be a mistake on my part, but I figured I’d ask anyway if there’s something that can be done.

So I’ve made a few looping tracks in Ableton (looping enabled in export as well) and when looping two of them in Ableton and Windows Media Player, I get no popping at the end/beginning. However, when looping them in FMOD, and by extension Unity, there is a noticeable pop every time.

I am a bit torn, since I know that the tracks do start somewhat abruptly, but I figure that if there was a pop, there shouldn’t really be anything noticeable once it loops back around–especially on the first track shown in the video below since it’s mostly pads and reverb that Ableton took care of–but there very obviously is.

So, given that those other two programs are leading me to believe they’re ok, is this something FMOD is doing or is it something I need to fix with my tracks?

Thank you.

Example (and for some reason it doesn’t seem like you can hear the second track’s pop very well; this adds to my confusion)

Hi,

There are a couple of culprits in this situation, but a preliminary guess would be that the asset is set to “stream”, which means when playing back it will be loaded piecemeal on-demand, instead of being loaded into memory all at once. This typically incurs extra latency, especially when being seeked/looping, which may result in the popping you’re observing.

If you select the asset in the asset browser and set it to not stream, does it resolve the issue? If not, so that I can attempt to reproduce the exact issue on my end, can I get your FMOD Studio version number?

1 Like

Hello,

Thank you for your response. Apologies as I had forgotten to mention, but yes I had previously tried to turn streaming off and that doesn’t seem to make any difference. Looping the assets in the browser itself still produces the same popping. My FMOD Studio version is 2.02.15.