Studio API [C++] General Questions (New to FMOD)

I have a couple of questions as I am trying to integrate FMOD Studio into one of my projects.

Although I have gotten the project playing audio files there are some things left out of the example code provided in the documentation regarded intended use. As I am new to FMOD I find these concepts in the API somewhat elusive to grasp.

Does anyone know if there are any form of guidelines as to what best practices are when using the API.

Where can I find more info about the intended use of FMOD::EventInstances and related interfaces/classes for playing sound. Basically what is my responsibility when using a resource and what does FMOD take care of in terms of memory management etc. The documentation file only specifies what functions are available and not it’s intended use as a whole.

How are you supposed to keep track of the FMOD::ID / GUID per event type. Do I need to manually make an asset list for each event with corresponding GUID and define them for my team? Is the a better dynamic way of doing this? (std::map or similar functionality comes to mind).

If anyone has any form of resource about the API and it’s intended use I would appreciate a little nudge in the right direction :smiley:

Also is there any way of having FMOD triggering callbacks that I can pass along to my engine. (Like a tag defined in the event that does not trigger a programmer sound but instead sends a predefined value)

I have a related question, so I am hijacking this thread.

I am able to use the API to load resources from bank files provided with the example media. I use the user-friendly name in lookupID, as you suggested, just like the example code shows. I can play the sounds in my own application with no problems.