Feature request: event notes and parameter tooltips in FMODEvent uassets

Hi Firelight!

My team and I’ve been using FMOD for a couple of years now and are very happy with the possibilities it provides.
As our projects get more complex, we’d like to be able to provide more easily accessible information to other (non-audio) designers and programmers on our team. For them, when they’re optimizing or iterating on game logic involving FMOD events, it’s a bit of a black box when we use parameters to drive audio (which we do a lot). It would help if we could give more information in our FMOD Event uassets!

To that end, we’d like to request the following features:

• We can already set event notes in FMOD Studio. Could these also be shown in the FMOD event’s uasset in UE?
  • An FMOD event’s uasset shows the event’s parameters. There, the tooltip defaults to ‘[parameter name + min-max values]’. It’d be great if we could write custom tooltips for parameters.

Custom tooltip parameters allow us to explain the general behavior of a parameter, while notes let us explain event-specific timeline and parameter behavior.

I’m not sure if there are any performance costs associated with exposing such data to FMOD event uassets. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts. Thanks for your time and consideration!

Thanks for the feature requests - I definitely understand the use-case for them. While I’ve added them to our internal feature/improvement tracker, they both come with some caveats that make them a little more complex than they seem.