FMOD not found in Visual Studio (Namespaces greyed out)

MacOS High Sierra 10.13.6
Unity v2019.3.12f1
FMOD Studio for Unity v2.00.08
Visual Studio for Mac v8.5.4 (build 12)

I’m experiencing two weird issues with the FMOD package in Unity:

1. Sometimes when I open a previously saved Unity project, FMOD is not showing up among the tabs and all the FMOD scripts are disabled. It’s almost like the unity package was never installed in the first place, despite the fact that I worked on that project for several hours without problems last night. I tried reinstalling the FMOD-Unity package both from the official website and from the asset store, but it didn’t make any difference.

2. Visual Studio does not recognize FMOD. Namespaces are greyed out and I get the occasional “Are you missing an assembly reference?” message. Clearly I’m not a programmer, but I can’t find any documentation regarding this problem. What am I doing wrong?

It might be worth noting that I previously had issues with FMOD Studio as well, but I solved it by unquarantining the app. Could it be related with those other issues?

Screenshot 2020-05-02 18.18.14

I have a similar issue, where the difference from the OP is that I am on Win 10 and using Visual Studio 2019 community. Otherwise FMOD version is the same and Unity version is the same.

When I tried to attach my VS project to Unity to debug something unrelated to FMOD, I got the error:
“Error CS0246 The type or namespace name ‘FMOD’ could not be found (are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?)”

I found my way to this post and saw it was very similar. My using statements are greyed out like the OP shows.

I made a few tests and figured out that the FMOD tab and components are disabled whenever I save a script that include some reference to an FMOD instance or parameter.